Welcome to Labour Department Haryana
  • Sitemap
  • Skip to Main Content
  • Screen Reader Access
  • A-
  • A
  • A+
  • हिन्दी


The Labour Department

Factory Wing

This wing implements mainly two legislations namely the Factories Act, 1948 and the Building and Other Construction Workers (RE & CS) Act, 1996 along with the Building and Other Construction Workers Cess Act, 1998 and rules framed thereunder.

Labour Wing

This wing implement the following legislations:-

  1. The Bonded Labour System (Abolition) Act, 1976

  2. The Child Labour (Prohibition and Regulation) Act, 1986

  3. The Collection of Statistics Act, 1953

  4. The Contract Labour (Regulation & Abolition) Act, 1970

  5. The Equal Remuneration Act, 1976

  6. The Industrial Disputes Act, 1947

  7. The Industrial Employment (Standing Orders) Act, 1946

  8. Inter-State Migrant Workmen (Regulation of Employment and conditions of Service) Act, 1979

  9. The Labour Laws (Exemption from Furnishing Returns and Maintaining Registers by Certain Establishments) Act, 1988

  10. The Maternity Benefit Act, 1961

  11. The Minimum Wages Act, 1948

  12. The Motor Transport Workers Act, 1961.

  13. The Payment of Bonus Act, 1965

  14. The Payment of Gratuity Act, 1972.

  15. The Payment of Wages Act, 1936

  16. The Sales Promotion Employees (Conditions of Service) Act, 1976

  17. The Trade Unions Act, 1926

  18. The Working Journalists and Other Newspaper Employees (Conditions of Service) and Miscellaneous Portions Act, 1955

  19. The Employees’ Compensation Act, 1923

  20. The Punjab Industrial Establishments (National and Festival Holidays, Casual and Sick Leave) Act, 1965

  21. The Punjab Labour Welfare Funds Act, 1965.

  22. The Punjab Shops and Commercial Establishments Act, 1958.

  23. The Punjab Industrial Housing Act, 1956 (Notification is issued by Housing Department).

Adjudication Wing

The Labour Department refers the genuine disputes of industrial workers to Labour Courts-cum-Industrial Tribunals for adjudication which remain unresolved inspite of the efforts of the conciliation machinery of the State. For the expeditious disposal of such cases, seven Industrial Tribunal-cum Labour Courts have been set up by the State Government. All these Industrial Tribunal-cum-Labour Courts cover the disputes as per Schedule-I and II of the Industrial Disputes Act and are functioning under the Presiding Officers at Faridabad (Three), Gurgaon (Two), Rohtak, Hisar, Panipat and Ambala. This measure aims at providing justice to the workes and managements thereby creating a sense of confidence and satisfaction amongst the workers.

HELP FAQ Locate Us